Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

AAA Music | 3 December 2020

Scroll to top


Heaven 17 confirm Luxury Gap and B.E.F. concerts in London

| On 16, May 2011

Following the success of Heaven 17’s ‘Penthouse and Pavement 30th Anniversary Tour’ in 2010, Martyn Ware’s production project, ‘British Electric Foundation’ (B.E.F.) is proud to present ‘Music of Quality and Distinction Live’, a 2-day festival at London’s prestigious Roundhouse from October 14-15th, celebrating 30 years of seminal electronic music and unique collaborations.

Heaven 17 will perform the world premiere of their 1983 album ‘The Luxury Gap’ on Friday October 14th, followed by B.E.F.’s first ever live performance featuring tracks from the albums ‘Music of Quality & Distinction Vol. 1 & 2’ on Saturday October 15th.

Tickets go on sale Thursday April 12th at 10am. Ticket hotline: 0844 844 0444. Book online: Day tickets: £23.50. Weekend tickets: £42.50.

Performed on Friday October 14th for the first time, Heaven 17’s The Luxury Gap album went to #4 in the UK Album chart and spawned 4 hit singles – Let Me Go, Temptation, Come Live With Me, and Crushed by the Wheels of Industry. The concert will be performed using 3D soundscape composition techniques pioneered by Martyn Ware and Vince Clarke.

Over the last three decades, B.E.F.’s work has achieved a cult status and universal acclaim. Their 1981 debut album Music For Stowaways was recently hailed by Uncut magazine as one of the “50 Greatest Lost Albums of All Time.” The B.E.F. concert will be entirely devoted to their groundbreaking 30-year career of electronic pop, featuring some of the artists who originally performed on the Music of Quality and Distinction albums.

Guest vocalists confirmed for the Music of Quality and Distinction concert include Elly Jackson (LaRoux), Boy George (Culture Club), Green Gartside (Scritti Politti), Sandie Shaw, Kim Wilde, Andy Bell (Erasure), Shingai Shoniwa (Noisettes), Midge Ure (Ultravox), Glenn Gregory (Heaven 17) and Polly Scattergood (more names to be confirmed shortly).

Read the official online press release here –