Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

AAA Music | 4 June 2020

Scroll to top


Vincent Moon & Efterklang film, ‘An Island’, download and DVD available today

| On 25, May 2011

Vincent Moon and Efterklang present

An Island

‘Pay What You Want’ download available

Pre-order Deluxe Limited-edition DVD package

(includes a new Efterklang EP)

Since premiering on January 31st 2011, Efterklang’s collaborative film with Vincent Moon, An Island, has taken on a life of its own, exceeding even the band’s own modest expectations. Distributed during the first two months using the unique method of Private-Public Screenings devised by the band and director, members of the public were invited to host their own public free-entry screenings of the film in their homes, offices, schools et al.

Overall, more than 1,200 screenings of An Island took place during February and March. The Google map on An Island‘s website and the many group photos from screenings across the globe collected on Flickr illustrate the scope of this gigantic collective happening.

The momentum continued after the screenings concluded as Pitchfork TV gave An Island its online premiere, airing the film on its site in full for one week.

Today Efterklang and Vincent Moon has made An Island available for download and revealed details about the deluxe DVD release of the film. Via the film’s website you can now either choose your own price for the Digital Download or you can pre-order the deluxe DVD package.

The deluxe package is limited to 5,000 custom-made, eco-friendly, numbered, letterpress printed covers with a DVD disc full of bonus material. Also included will be a new Efterklang EP, ‘Live at Roskilde Festival 2010’ and is completely exclusive to the DVD release. Those who pre-order the DVD will be given instant access to the Digital Download of An Island.

The Digital Download and DVD Package will only be available via

There will be several official screenings of An Island this summer, details of which can be found HERE.

More information on An Island:

Digital Download Package:
An Island (48 minutes, English subtitles) in high resolution quality (1.7 GB mov file) + the audio from the film as a 320kbps mp3 file.

Deluxe DVD + Bonus EP + Digital Download Package:
DVD specifications: The DVD is region free and made to play on every DVD player on the market.

On the DVD you will find the following:
– An Island (48 minutes – English, Spanish and Japanese subtitles)
– two maybe three deleted performances that did not make it to the final cut of An Island
– the 33 minute long Vincent Moon film TemporaryCopenhagen featuring: Murder, Slaraffenland, Efterklang, Choir of Young Believers, Chimes & Bells + more
– one or maybe two older Efterklang Take-Away Show(s) by Vincent Moon.

The DVD packaging is designed by Hvass&Hannibal in close collaboration with Stumptown Printers:
– handmade production on Heidelberg Letterpress machines from the 1950s
– limited Edition of 5000 numbered copies.
– printed with vegetable based inks on heavyweight recycled paperboard
– 5 deluxe photo cards on recycled paperboard
– extensive booklet on recycled paper

BONUS EP specifications:
Efterklang – Live at Roskilde Festival 2010 is exclusively available as part of this An Island package. The live EP holds 5 songs performed by Efterklang in a unique 11-piece formation made especially for this Roskilde Festival concert, which was recorded by Danish National Radio (DR). The bonus EP will be available as a 320kbps MP3 via a download code delivered together with the An Island DVD.