Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

AAA Music | 28 October 2020

Scroll to top


Philip Sayce: “Ruby Electric” new album and UK tour

| On 08, Jun 2011

Monday July 11th sees the release of “Ruby Electric” – Philip Sayce’s latest album on Provogue Records. The album showcases previously unreleased studio and live tracks, and includes the single “Let The Love In” featuring a duet with Melissa Etheridge.

The album coincides with a short UK tour in July that includes London Borderline (July 25), Bristol Tunnels (July 26), Holmfirth Picturedrome (July 27) and Manchester Band on the Wall (July 28). 24 Hour Ticket Hotline: 0871 230 1101. Book Online from and

“Ruby Electric” includes a collection of songs divided into two different volumes. The songs were recorded with Sayce’s favourite musicians and friends. Currently #2 in Amazon UK’s official Blues pre-sale album chart, “Ruby Electric” features Kenny Aronoff (drums), Joel Gottschalk (bass), Fritz Lewak (drums), and Fred Mandel (piano, organ).

Volume 1, recorded at Sunset Sound and Lion’s Share, Hollywood, was produced by Dave Cobb and mixed by Mark Rains. The songs were recorded live using a collection of vintage equipment and instruments, complemented by Cobb’s signature recording and production techniques. Volume 2, recorded on tour in France, Germany, and Holland in 2010, was mixed by the legendary recording engineer Eddie Kramer (Jimi Hendrix, Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin) in April 2011.

“I’d been looking for the right circumstances to release all of these songs,” says Sayce. “The studio tracks on Volume 1 remained unavailable internationally. We remixed and re-mastered the tracks, picked some alternate takes, and included a live version of “Daydream Tonight” (the latter originally appeared on Sayce’s 2010 album “Innerevolution”). As soon as we paired the songs up with the recent live recordings from last year’s European tour, the album became Ruby Electric.