Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

AAA Music | 13 July 2020

Scroll to top


Charlotte Gainsbourg announces new EP, album and video

| On 26, Aug 2011

Charlotte Gainsbourg will release her new album ‘Stage Whisper’ through Because Music on 7th November. A double album of live and unreleased studio tracks, it will be the follow up to the critically acclaimed ‘IRM’ album, which came out in January 2010. ‘Stage Whisper’s studio material features collaborations with Beck, Conor O’Brien of Villagers, Noah and the Whale and Connan Mockasin. A new EP entitled ‘Terrible Angels’ will be released on 5th September. Available on vinyl and CD, the EP features two unreleased studio tracks, two live recordings and two videos.


Charlotte Gainsbourg – Terrible Angels by Because Music

‘Stage Whisper’ track listing;
Live Album
1. IRM
2. Set Yourself On Fire
3. Jamais
4. Heaven Can Wait
5. In The End
6. AF 607 105
7. Just Like A Woman
8. The Operations
9. Trick Pony
10. The Songs That We Sing
11. Voyage

Studio Album
1. Terrible Angels
2. Paradisco
3. All The Rain
4. White Telephone
5. Go To Let Go
6. Out Of Touch
7. Memoir

Many of the studio tracks on ‘Stage Whisper’ originate from the sessions for ‘IRM’, which enjoyed critical claim across the globe. The Sunday Telegraph declared the album to be a work of “borderline genius”, Mojo claimed “IRM marks Charlotte Gainsbourg’s musical coming of age”, whilst the Daily Telegraph enthused “her best work and arguably Beck’s best in a decade, too”. The New York Times called ‘IRM’ “an engrossingly eclectic pop record and a kind of coming-out party: the first time that Ms Gainsbourg the chanteuse has displayed the charisma of Charlotte Gainsbourg the actress.” Vanity Fair deemed the album “an enigmatic, varied, and sonically complex tour de force.”
‘Terrible Angels’ EP includes: ‘Terrible Angels,’ written and produced by Beck, ‘Memoir, written by Conor O’Brien (Villagers) and produced by O’Brien and Renaud Letang (Feist), live versions of ‘IRM’ and Dylan’s ‘Just Like A Woman,’ recorded on Gainsbourg’s summer 2010 European tour and videos for ‘Just Like A Woman’ (live) and ‘Terrible Angels.’