Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

AAA Music | 29 October 2020

Scroll to top


A Classic Education Free MP3 / New Album ‘Call It Blazing’ out 12th Dec

| On 04, Dec 2011

A Classic Education Release Free Mp3 + Debut Album ‘Call It Blazing’ Out 12th December on Lefse

“These aptly named Italians have done their homework, showing masterful proficiency in the subjects of Coiffed Counterculture (Spector sheen, Orbison swoon) and Millennial Indie (Strokes cool, Shins chime)” SPIN

Italian indie rockers A Classic Education have released a free download ahead of the physical release of their debut album. ‘Call It Blazing’ will be available in the UK via Lefse Records on the 12th December. This blistering debut was produced by Jarvis Taverniere (Woods, Vivian Girls, Real Estate, Widowspeak, Ganglians) in his Rear House studio in Brooklyn earlier in 2011.

Click to download album track ‘Baby It’s Fine’ here

Watch the album trailer

A Classic Education is fronted by Canadian-born Jonathan Clancy aka His Clancyness who released a mesmeric odd pop single via Splendour late October this year. The band including recently supported Okkervil River on their European tour this Autumn.

‘Call It Blazing’ follows hot on the heels of a string of acclaimed EPs and singles that have sent A Classic Education around the world numerous times to play with like-minded bands Wolf Parade, Real Estate, Crystal Stilts, The Fresh & Onlys, British Sea Power and Arcade Fire and festivals such as Primavera Sound, SXSW, Indietracks and CMJ. All added up to provoke one critic to exclaim “they look like European punks from an early Pedro Almodovar film and sound like a mix of Galaxie 500, The Shins and a hint of 50s rock n roll. Good stuff.”

While ‘Call It Blazing is ‘A Classic Education’s first proper LP, it is instantly recognizable as part of the great tradition of early rock and roll – an album full of stories, character and time.

The band wrote the record in their hometown of Bologna, Italy, soaking in the vintage photography of Danny Lyon, Diane Arbus, William Gedney and Mario Giacomelli – fever dreams of bikers, roads and dirt, the Chicago Outlaws, and the leather-clad city kids of long-gone yesterdays. The juxtaposition of these grainy images and Bologna’s medieval streets and red-tiled roofs created ‘Call It Blazing’; – a thoroughly modern take on forgotten-era pop music that marries dreamy guitars, shimmering sixties melodies, jangly post-punk and early stage rock’n’roll anthems, all with an unmistakable European pop sensibility. These are 12 songs that explore a sense of mischief, disenchantment, escapism and desire to not comply to any given set of rules or laws – ideas that are as modern as they are timeless. A Classic Education combine the muscle of ‘Loaded’-era VU with the sincerity of Roy Orbison and the chiming guitars of the Go-Betweens, Johnny Marr and The Verlaines to create a unique and compelling sound of their own.

“I was standing in an old book shop in Bologna and a copy of ‘The Bikeriders’ by the photographer Danny Lyon was on the wall just staring right back at me,” says singer Jonathan Clancy. “I immediately picked it up, carried it home and immersed myself in that black & white universe, those roads, sweat dripping from my palms and stories clogging my mind. I felt at ease, lost in that forgotten world of abandonment, and songs came in a matter of seconds”.

Jonathan and his gang, namely Paul Pieretto (bass), Giulia Mazza (organ, vocals), Luca Mazzieri (guitar, vocals) and Federico Oppi (drums, percussion), decided to come to the US to record ‘Call It Blazing’ at Brooklyn’s Rear House. Jarvis Tavienere and the band crafted the album’s unique sound by using a classic method: tracking all the musicians together in an old kitchen with a wooden floor and sending the results to analog tape, later adding layers of organ, theremin and violin. Closing song ‘Night Owl’ was recorded in Philadelphia during Weathervane’s acclaimed Shaking Through sessions by Brian McTear and Jon Low.

‘Call It Blazing’ is available on Lefse (worldwide), Moor Works (Japan), La Tempesta International (Italy), and Tannen Records (vinyl).


  1. Work It Out
  2. Baby, It’s Fine
  3. Grave Bird
  4. Gone To Sea
  5. Place A Bet On You
  6. Billy’s Gang Dream
  7. Spin Me Round
  8. Forever Boy
  9. Can You Feel The Backwash
  10. Terrible Day
  11. I Lost Time
  12. Night Owl