Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

AAA Music | 14 July 2020

Scroll to top


BUCKS FIZZ – Writing On the Wall – The Ultimate Edition

| On 15, Apr 2012

Bucks Fizz is a quartet English group whose success in the 1980s included winning the Eurovision Song Contest with the song Making Your Mind Up and having three No.1 singles.
On 16th April, 2012 they release on Universal a digitally remastered and expanded two CD edition of their fifth and final album, originally released in 1986. Writing on the Wall was their first album to feature Shelley Preston after the departure of Jay Aston.
This 25th Anniversary edition includes previously unreleased mixes, demos and extended versions in Lost Masters 3. Rarities include an extended mix of Soul Motion, never previously released, unedited versions of Give A Little Love and Don’t Turn Back and there’s a first release of a number of tracks recorded in 1988. Also, there are original 12′ mixes and B-sides of the era and two previously unreleased medleys from the Live at Fairfield Hall session.
Bucks Fizz fans will probably be delighted by this loved album returning. Critics will say it was unsuccessful originally and quickly disappeared from view. To those in search of hidden gems, this might be more than just a mildly enjoyable listen. Perhaps there are genuine opportunities to find songs which are unexpectedly sophisticated.

Track Listing Disc 1:

1. New Beginning (Mamba Seyra)
2. Love The One You’re With (7″ Version)
3. Don’t Turn Back
4. Keep Each Other Warm
5. Love In A World Gone Mad (New Version 7″)
6. The Company You Keep
7. Soul Motion
8. Give A Little Love
9. In Your Eyes
10. I Need Your Love
11. Too Hard
12. Love The One You’re With (Extended Version)
13. I Hear Talk
14. Love In A World Gone Mad (New Version (Extended Mix))
15. New Beginning

Track Listing Disc 2:

1. Love The One You’re With (Alternate Mix)
2. Keep Eachother Warm
3. Love In A World Gone Mad (Shelley Preston Version)
4. Big Deal (1986 7″ Version)
5. I Want To Stay
6. What’s One Lonely Woman
7. The Company You Keep (Demo)
8. Easy Trouble
9. One Heart
10. I Should Have Been Strong
11. Paper Hearts
12. Innocent
13. Big Deal (1986 Extended Version)
14. Live Motown Medley
15. Live Rolling Stones Medley
16. Soul Motion (2011 Extended Version)

Author:Anthony Weightman