Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

AAA Music | 25 July 2024

Scroll to top


Made In Iceland V (feat. Ólafur Arnalds, GusGus, Sóley, FM Belfast)

| On 07, May 2012

It’s time to dive into the fifth Made In Iceland release – a collection of eighteen diverse tracks from the cream of Iceland’s contemporary musical talent.

It’s difficult to think of Iceland without thinking of superlative music. This remote North Atlantic nation has punched well above its weight over the last two decades. If anything, the island’s incessant soundtrack is growing ever more dynamic, as artists and bands, inspired by the continual international success of their peers, continue to create original, world class music.

This very special collection proves that there is so much more to Icelandic music than first meets the ear: from the sonic spell-weaving capabilities of former Seabear artist Sóley to the bluesy tones of Lay Low, from the psych-rock excitement of Vintage Caravan to the transcendent neo-classical beauty of Ólafur Arnalds, it is clear that Icelandic artists cannot be easily pigeonholed.

IMX was initiated by Samtónn, an umbrella organization of rights holders societies, in partnership with governmental and private funds in November 2006. The aim is to bring together Iceland’s eclectic music scene under one roof. By increasing access to information about artists, IMX will increase the visibility of Icelandic music in the international sphere and provide an essential one-stop resource for all interested parties.

Made In Iceland V is the latest in the Made In Iceland compilation series, designed specifically to showcase the country’s myriad musical talent and bring it to the attention of the world.


1. “I’ll Drown” – Sóley
2. “Góda Tungl” – Samaris
3. “Within You” – GusGus
4. “Darkest Part of Town” – Helgi Jónsson
5. “The Backbone” – Lay Low
6. “Qween” – Retro Stefson
7. “Messy Hair” – Sykur
8. “I Don’t Want to Go to Sleep Either” – FM Belfast
9. “I Know She Does” – Just Another Snake Cult
10. “Hellbound Heart” – Reykjavík!
11. “Let’s Get It On” – The Vintage Caravan
12. “Dead Mantra” – Dead Skeletons
13. “Impulse” – For A Minor Reflection
14. “Laut” – Lockerbie
15. “Animals” – Vigri
16. “Shades” Árstídir
17. “Near Light” – Ólafur Arnalds
18. “Fowl” – 7oi