Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

AAA Music | 18 September 2021

Scroll to top


Richard Buckner hailed by Bon Iver as a big Influence releases his first new album in 5 years “Our Blood” September 26th on Decor Records

| On 16, Jul 2011

“Our Blood” Richard Buckner’s first album since 2006’s ‘Meadow’ and the first be released by a UK record label.

In the last 5 years Richard has gone through a lot of turmoil and his fans have been clamoring for new material, wondering what was keeping their hero from releasing the new songs he would perform on the road. Well, it’s a long story!

First, there was the score to a film that never happened. Then there was a brief brush with the law over a headless corpse in a burned-out car that had all eyes in Buckner’s small hometown in upstate New York turned toward him and his long-suffering truck. Shortly after a move to a safer, less popular area, the death of his tape machine led to yet another reboot. After Richard called in pedal steel, percussion players and put new mixes on his laptop, his new “safer” place was burglarized. Goodbye, laptop.

Buckner says: “Eventually, the recording machine was resuscitated and some of the material was recovered. Cracks were patched. Parts were redundantly re-invented. Insinuations were re-insinuated until the last percussive breaths of those final OCD utterances were expelled like the final heaves of bile, wept-out long after the climactic drama had faded to a somber, blurry moment of truth and voilà!, the record was done, or, let us be clear, abandoned like the charred shell of a car with a nice stereo.”

Richard is currently with Merge Records in the US and was previously with Fargo Records from France.  His ninth album is produced by JD Foster (Calexico, Richmond Fontaine) and included guest spots by Steve Shelley (Sonic Youth) and (New Riders on the Purple Sage) The European edition includes three bonus tracks not on the US edition.

In a recent Pitchfork interview with Justin Vernon (Bon Iver) hailed  Richard Buckner as having a “big influence” on Bon Iver, Bon Iver “His ( Richards) words are just about a sound and barely about meaning, but I could find all these crazy meanings in there. In his song “Loaded at the Wrong Door”, there are lyrics that are totally heartbreaking and beautiful and heavy, but you really couldn’t say exactly what they’re about. Still, I found these intense personal connections with those words because they flowed out a certain way.”

Richard will be touring the UK in November as well as doing some duo dates early in 2012 with Willy Vlautin from Richmond Fontaine.

1 . Traitor
2 . Escape
3 . Thief
4 . Collusion
5 . Ponder
6 . Witness
7 . Confession
8 . Hindsight
9 . Gang
Bonus songs
10.Thief – Hofner version
11.Gang – EPI nylon version
12. Witness – Wurli version

“There are few writers/musicians out there I respect as much as Richard Buckner, and his new album, Our Blood, is his best yet”
Richmond Fontaine