Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

AAA Music | 25 February 2021

Scroll to top


Thrill Jockey announces Record Store Day (April 21st) releases

| On 11, Mar 2012

The US based label Thrill Jockey is very pleased to announce this year’s line-up for Record Store Day in the form of two new releases and two older reissues that haven’t been available since the early ’90s!

Following last year’s instantly sold out split LP with Glenn Jones, THE BLACK TWIG PICKERS return with two new songs in the form of a 7″ specifically for Record Store Day 2012! The Black Twig Pickers keep company with many of America’s underground heavyweights (Mike Gangloff is a founding member of long running drone/noise/folk unit Pelt) and hold their own with the old-timers too; constantly playing at country fairs, barn dances, and even for the National Council for the Traditional Arts.

The Black Twig Pickers Live

Yellow Cat 7″:

1. Yellow Cat
2. You’ll Never Miss Your Mama

On the reissue front, the label have the long out of print Feels Like The Third Time from FREAKWATER, an undisputed classic of the alt-country/Americana scene. In print on CD since its release, the vinyl version has been unavailable because the record plant burnt down shortly after our initial order of vinyl arrived. The record was remastered to vinyl by Roger Seibel at SAE and also includes a download card. Recorded with Brad Wood at the now infamous (and closed) Idful Studios, it features seven originals and five covers by the likes of Conway Twitty, Woody Guthrie, and Nick Lowe. This is the record that solidified Freakwater as an up and coming voice in the world of country music, as well as being one of the records that helped kick start the whole No Depression/Americana craze.

“My Old Drunk Friend”

Feels Like The Third Time LP:

1. My Old Drunk Friend
2. Put My Little Shoes Away
3. Forgettable Song
4. Crazy Man
5. Pale Horse
6. You Make Me
7. You’ve Never Been This Far Before
8. Dream Girl
9. Sleeping on Hold
10. Amelia Earhart
11. Are You Ready
12. Lullaby

Last but not least, reissues of the first two TORTOISE singles. Lonesome Sound was released on Thrill Jockey and features a cover of the Freakwater song of the same name. Mosquito (also the band’s original name) was released on David Sims’ (Jesus Lizard) Torsion Music label. These releases feature the original line-up of Douglas McCombs, John Herndon, Bundy K. Brown, John McEntire and Brad Wood! Both have been recut to vinyl by Bob Weston (Shellac) and feature the original fold-over artwork. Both 7″ sleeves can be put together to form a full four panel poster.

Lonesome Sound 7″:

1. Lonesome Sound
2. Reservoir
3. Sheets

Mosquito 7″:

1. Mosquito
2. Gooseneck