Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

AAA Music | 22 April 2024

Scroll to top


Former Screaming Trees member Barrett Martin release new album in July

| On 08, May 2012

Seattle drummer and composer Barrett Martin and his world fusion jazz group return with their 5th album in 8 years titled “Artifact” on Sunyata Records (out 26th July 2012).

Artifact was produced and mixed by legendary producer Jack Endino (Nirvana, Soundgarden, Screaming Trees).

The album showcases a rhythmic fusion of jazz and rock with the band’s liberal use of world music styles, exotic melodies and psychedelia. Now grown to a septet made up of Seattle’s top jazz musicians Barrett lays down his well-known tribal jazz grooves, and Kevin Hudson’s deep in the pocket bass lines serve as the string theory that holds it all together. Paul Fischer’s R&B guitar gives the album a ‘60s Stax/Motown vibe, while Joe Doria seamlessly handles all manner of keyboard duties ranging from grand piano and Hammond B3, to Fender rhodes and a funky clavinet. Ben Thomas provides shimmering, hypnotic vibraphone and marimba lines, and decade-long Tuatara. “The BMG” also features Hindustani vocalist Mehnaz Hoosein on 4 of the album tracks.

The band will be playing dates in the US, South America, and Europe throughout 2012 in support of the record.

Artifact is on Sunyata Records Barrett’s label that has already bought everyone the “Last Words: The Final Recordings” by the Screaming Trees and promises to deliver some equally stellar releases in the near future.

Artifat tracklisting:

1. Float Like A Butterfly
2. Way Down
3. Intersections
4. Lotus Eater
5. Sama Sama
6. Voodoo Charm
7. Dark Forest
8. Ghost Mountain
9. Sarasvati
10. Rainmaker
11. Ichcha
12. Incandescere
13. Cannibal
14. Sanbusco