Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

AAA Music | 24 September 2020

Scroll to top


Freakwater’s Catherine Irwin announces new solo album for September

| On 24, Jun 2012

Catherine Irwin (of the famed alt-country band Freakwater) has this week announced her brand new solo album Little Heater to be released on 17th September 2012 via Thrill Jockey Records.

This will be her first solo album in 10 years. The record features vocals on two tracks from Bonnie “Prince” Billy (aka Will Oldham).


1. Mockingbird
2. Dusty Groove
3. Hoopskirt
4. Sinner Saves a Saint
5. We Must Also Love the Thieves
6. To Break Your Heart
7. Piss to Gin
8. Nightshade
9. Flowers of Darkness
10. Save Our Ship
11. Pale Horse/Pale Rider
12. The Whole of the Law
13. The Banks of the Ohio

“Catherine Irwin’s second solo album is a showcase for her considerable writing skills both musically and lyrically as well as her singular performance style. Little Heater combines raw and unadorned vocals with lush countrypolitan-style productions: gorgeous string sections, pedal steel guitar and dense layers of vocal harmonies. Lyrics follow the themes of old-time music — loss, despair, self-destruction and delusion — but the references and turns of phrase are entirely modern and entirely Catherine’s. As she did on 2002’s spare and haunting Cut Yourself a Switch, or as she has done as the primary songwriter in Freakwater, Catherine aims her laser wit into the dark corners of the human condition…”